- Tower of London
Despite its great public appeal, the New Horse Armoury was causing the War Office problems. Attempts to repair it in 1869 had failed. The roof leaked badly with water pouring onto the objects. Furthermore, the building built in 1826 was suffering subsidence. These faults, and the desire to improve the appearance of the Tower of London by removing unnecessary buildings, led to the ‘Line’ again being moved to another location.
In 1882-3 the wooden horses and their riders were placed for the first time inside the White Tower. They were moved to the top floor into a large room known as the Council Chamber. This room’s shape and size were not suitable for having the figures in a single line as before. However, the objects remained a great attraction and the chamber became known as the Horse Armoury.
Once it was empty, plans were made to demolish the New Horse Armoury. This would reveal the south side of the Norman White Tower and improve the feel of the whole site as a medieval castle. The demolition of the New Horse Armoury building, which had housed the ‘Line of Kings’ from 1827 to 1882, was completed in about 1885.
The display of armoured figures seated on carved wooden horses continued to be one of the site’s top attractions. This floor of the White Tower had large light wells at this time, allowing daylight into the rooms below. The Horse Armoury was laid out around these features, which had distinctive railings made from real swords and pistols. Not long after the Horse Armoury was moved in the Council Chamber, electric lighting was introduced to improve visitors’ experience of the exhibition.
The popularity of the new display is reflected in the variety of picture postcards. From about 1900 these provided many different views of the objects. The Yeoman Warders no longer led visitors around the Horse Armoury. Yet they had the right to sell postcards of the Tower which many visitors bought as souvenirs or posted for friends and family to see.
Join the conversation